Peace through victory - the American way.

Saturday, September 17, 2005

The Second Amendment Disaster Preparedness Kit

Hurricane Katrina was an eye opener about how thin the veneer of law and order is on civilization. Most people remained law abiding but the few who didn't were a dangerous threat to the others. Staying alive and whole in the first few days after a disaster when the survivors are on their own requires more than just a stock of food and water and other essentials. A weapon for self-protection has to be included in the disaster preparedness kit. Yet a weapon is not recommended for most kits. (See here, here, here, here, here, and here.)

Living in San Diego the disaster that's likely to strike is an earthguake. (Well, our finances are a disaster but that's a whole 'nother story.) Since earthquakes come without warning, after a big one everybody is going to be left behind to fend for themselves for a few days. In fact, California's Office of Emergency Services tells its residents this.
The first 72 hours after a major emergency or disaster are critical. Electricity, gas, water, and telephones may not be working. In addition, public safety services such as police and fire departments will be busy handling serious crises. You should be prepared to be self-sufficient — able to live without running water, electricity and/or gas, and telephones — for at least three days following a major emergency.
(Webpage here.)

So here's a photo of the latest addition to my disaster preparedness kit.

It's the Mossberg 500 Persuader, 12 gauge, 8 shot, pump-action, pistol-grip shotgun with a folding stock. (Webpage here.)

Here's a photo with the stock unfolded.

Nice, eh?

It's not too hard to buy a long gun in California. You choose your gun, pay your money, fill out a background check form, and come back in 10 days to pick up your weapon. It's a little harder to buy a handgun. In addition to the background check and the 10 day waiting period, California requires a handgun purchaser to obtain a "Handgun Safety Certificate" from the state. To get a certificate you have to take a test of 30 multiple choice questions about guns, gun safety, and California gun laws. The test is mostly common sense and is easier than a DMV test. You can take the test at the gun shop and they'll give you the certificate right there if you correctly answer 23 of the questions. So it's not too hard to get the certificate. But it does cost $25. And the best part is that the state charges a sales tax on the certificate.

I answered 30 out of 30 correctly on the test and got my certificate. The next step is to buy a good but reasonably priced revolver. Probably the Taurus Tracker 627 .357 Mag 7 shot revolver pictured below. (Webpage here.)



Anonymous Anonymous said...


12:19 PM


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home